Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Alternative to CZ120

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Steve Crow01/04/2023 18:32:01
429 forum posts
268 photos

Has anyone used this as an alternative to CZ120 brass sheet? My usual supplier is out of stock of the thickness I want.

They offer 5 different gauges with only the 1mm being German.

From the website - German manufacture (MS58 brass) or made in China (H62 brass).

It seems that MS58 is the same as CU3 which looks promising.

H62 doesn't seem to have a British equivalent.

Also, they are significantly cheaper than CZ120.

Any thoughts welcome,

Steve

Edited By Steve Crow on 01/04/2023 18:33:38

John Haine01/04/2023 19:30:28
5563 forum posts
322 photos

Cousins is a respected supplier to the horological trade, they should be able to advise.

Steve Crow01/04/2023 19:37:46
429 forum posts
268 photos

I've been using Cousins for many years. I'm sure, if I got in touch, they would tell me it was suitable.

What I was looking for was if anyone had used the stuff and comparisons to CZ120.

Martin Kyte02/04/2023 10:27:51
3445 forum posts
62 photos

The spec says it has similar composition to CZ120 and is a free cutting leaded brass. I would have no qualms about using it for clock plates or wheels.

regards Martin

Michael Gilligan02/04/2023 10:40:03
23121 forum posts
1360 photos

This may be of interest:**LINK**

https://i.trade-cloud.com.cn/upload/391/h62-brass-strip-roll_495326.pdf

MichaelG.

Note the low lead content, and its suitability for deep-drawing

… perhaps not an ideal choice for wheel-cutting 

Edited By Michael Gilligan on 02/04/2023 10:47:30

SillyOldDuffer02/04/2023 11:41:17
10668 forum posts
2415 photos

From the alloy contents, H62 is very similar to CZ108.