Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

New member from Southampton

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Simon Clark06/11/2022 16:32:24
4 forum posts

Hello,

I have been playing around with lathes and milling machines for a few decades now, primarily to make small things for R/C model aircraft (and cars a long time ago) I have only got some small machines but I am looking to upgrade so I have joined this forum for help and advice

Simon

David George 106/11/2022 17:49:03
2110 forum posts
565 photos

Hi Simon welcome to the forum. Just ask on here but have a look at the archives as well as many have asked on here as well. At the top right hand side of the web page has a search button that is well worth searching.

David

Michael Callaghan06/11/2022 18:29:32
173 forum posts
7 photos

The machines you need depends on so many factors. Space available, what you intend to make, and how big your pockets are. I think that most of us would say that a well maintained old British machine is much better then a modern Chinese machine. And for the milling machine if you have the space available a good Bridgeport mill will do anything you may need. But again, so many factors.

Simon Clark06/11/2022 22:56:30
4 forum posts

Thanks David and Michael. I am in no hurry to change anything but I know that it is coming! I used Bridgeports in my apprenticeship at Rolls-Royce and I would love to have one, but I have absolutely no need for anything that big and nothing like the space (or money). My actual needs are usually for very small and lightweight parts and I only need quite small machines, although larger ones would make most jobs a bit simpler and quicker. I also have a finite space and I have to balance the space used by machinery against that left for benches and general building. Some model aircraft can get quite big and use up a lot of space.

Simon

Howard Lewis08/11/2022 04:47:59
7227 forum posts
21 photos

Welcome to the Forum.