Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Coupling and drawbar standards

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Speedy Builder521/10/2021 10:54:31
2878 forum posts
248 photos

What standard do we use for coupling heights for a 5" gauge locomotive ?

I see that one standard states 5" above the rail head for ground level track and 4" for raised track (Why the difference ?)

Another standard says 3 1/4" above rail head.

Some standards state 6mm diameter pin, others 4mm.

If I use the 5" standard, the coupling would be above the buffer beam on a SPEEDY Loco 5" gauge.

I am well confused.

Bob

Dave Halford21/10/2021 11:09:35
2536 forum posts
24 photos

I imagine it's all about club rolling stock coupling height, the extra inch would be due to requiring legs dangling on raised track and therefore everything is lower to the track?

Peter Seymour-Howell21/10/2021 12:25:06
125 forum posts
25 photos

As a scale builder, I would follow the GL5 standard of 3 5/8 or near as, there is some leeway in the standard, 5" and 4 " seems strange but then if you are modelling narrow gauge, perhaps not? I'm mainline so not really looked.

Here's the GL5 profile, you'll note that there is a generous amount of leeway, after all, locomotives come in all shapes and sizes.

https://2ebc4dff-5c4b-4001-aa30-16df8083dcc4.filesusr.com/ugd/fbc8da_9a0695dc486642fe8aba2dc028e6aca4.pdf

Pete

duncan webster21/10/2021 18:25:01
5307 forum posts
83 photos

SMEE standard says 3+21/32, which is near enough Peter's figure. Don't understand Dave's point at all.

Speedy Builder522/10/2021 06:38:16
2878 forum posts
248 photos

Thank you gentlemen, I can only imagine that the 5 and 4 inch recommendations came from a club that ran 7 1/4 and 5 inch on the same track line.

Bob

Perko722/10/2021 09:18:26
452 forum posts
35 photos