By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Wolfie

Here is a list of all the postings Wolfie has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Thrust washer
14/11/2016 11:41:16

Its a BSA C15

The 83-1234 isn't a proper part number, I was just using it for an example.

11/11/2016 17:00:27
Posted by Muzzer on 06/11/2016 13:43:25:

Wow. A moderator on a model engineering forum with 500 posts to his name lacks both the basic knowledge of what a thrust washer is - and the ability to Google it. I thought I had a good armchair!

Muzzer I'm a truck driver not an engineer, when you can reverse a fully loaded artic into the mill bays at Avonmouth mill and not fall into the dock without asking a truck driver how to do it then come and talk to me wink

The reason I'm a moderator has nothing to do with engineering and a lot more to do with the fact that I'm good at computers

Edited By Wolfie on 11/11/2016 17:01:10

11/11/2016 16:55:06

OK thanks guys I understand thrust washers now.

I'm working from diagrams that aren't much more than parts lists so all I have is a picture with numbers on, and a list to check the numbers against thus part 86-1234 is a thrust washer.

So the next question is then if part number 86-1234 is missing, how the hell do I find out what it was made of??

Edited By Wolfie on 11/11/2016 16:56:03

07/11/2016 13:47:50
Ok I'm doing my first motorcycle restoration, it's basically a practice run and learning curve. I keep running across references to thrust washers and they look like normal 'round thing with a hole in' washers. I was trying to find out why they had this special name, what differentiated them from normal washers which in a lot of cases appear to do the same job. For instance if I come across a missing one, can I simply replace it with a steel washer??

Edited By Wolfie on 07/11/2016 13:49:57

06/11/2016 12:49:10

So in effect, its a sorta flat bearing?