By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for Dr_GMJN

Here is a list of all the postings Dr_GMJN has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: Stuart 10V Build Log - Complete Beginner...
12/08/2023 16:48:50

Almost a year later, and I was back in Hamburg. I had another look at the ship engine, and noticed this plate:

Looks like it took him about 6 1/2 years to build. His “Titanic” engine is displayed next to it, and while not as complex, is also very impressive.

Thread: Stuart Twin Victoria (Princess Royal) Mill Engine
15/07/2023 16:35:58

Got the taper pins and reamer. Then, while figuring out how to hold the forks and shaft for drilling, found an issue: For some reason years ago I changed the four hole offsets for the slide bars to be further out. I think I might have done this becasue as drawn, the round mounting pillars overhang the inner base walls a bit, and moving the holes makes them look much better.

The result of this is that the overall width of the fork and brass block assemblies needed adjusting by the same amount (about 0.9mm per side). This, I didn't do:

I don't want to offest the sliders, becasue the mounting nuts wouldn't be central.

I could make spacers to pack out the brass sliders, 0.9 mm wide. Since I can't find any images of a real engine having shims or spacers, I'm not really happy to do that.

Seems the only remaining options are:

1) Add (solder or screw) 1mm thick face plates to the outer faces of the brass blocks and re-machine them to match the existing block thicknesses (difficult to set up to make everything square again I guess). Would also require significantly wider slide bars.

2) Solder bosses to the forks (probably look rubbish due to the imperfect concentricity of the turned bosses to the end radii).

3) Make 4 new brass blocks.

4) Make 2 new forks.