By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

Member postings for john carruthers

Here is a list of all the postings john carruthers has made in our forums. Click on a thread name to jump to the thread.

Thread: What Did you do Today 2022
12/09/2022 18:33:06

Today my grandson and I spent a pleasant hour in the shed.
"Is a drill like a lathe grandad?"
Well, yes and no.
" how is it different then?"
"Well, a lathe turns the work against a fixed tool....sometimes...except when it doesn't...watch..."
"hmmm"
Then he went out to play in the mud and watch the hens...
(but you could see the wheels turning)

Beginnings are important times.

Thread: pyrex is not PYREX
11/06/2022 13:56:42

quick and dirty test for Pyrex, it has the same refractive index as many vegetable oils.
Immerse it and see if it disappears in the oil.

Thread: Layout tool
03/06/2022 08:15:42

Hmm, shrinkage; as an apprentice I was working in the glass shop cutting glass for customers.
A gentleman came in with the usual bit of paper clutched in his hand and asked for a bit of picture glass which I cut, wrapped in newspaper and duly charged him for (all cash was handled in the office).
An hour later he was back, "you cut this wrong! it's too small".
I fished his paper from the tea chest we used as a bin and checked my size, all correct.
He went off in a huff. Another hour passed, the gentleman returned, this time clutching a fine boxwood and brass rule (you can see where this is going).
"I have been using this rule for 40 years, never had a problem" he proclaimed.
I offered it against the rule I had used to cut his glass and lo! the marks did not correspond. Upon closer inspection we discovered the legend "Shrinkage of Clay" embossed by the makers lozenge on his rule. He was correct, it had worked well in his shed but he'd never had to buy glass before.
He threw it on my bench and said, "You can keep that, I shall buy a standard rule".