Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Steam tube & fittings size for Stuart S50 and similar

How to determine optimum feed tube size for small engines

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
John Beresford08/04/2022 23:42:14
25 forum posts
11 photos

So Ive just completed my first steam engine project, a Stuart S50 and in the process of looking at boilers, but how do you determine the optimum size of steam tube in relation to both an adequate supply of steam vs a good scale size? Is there a good book out there that goes into this sort of thing? Also anything that describes what correct steam fittings to use and what layout? Ive already determined that I will need a displacement lubricator and some sort of steam valve or regulator between the boiler and engine (globe valve?) but what sizes are appropriate for this size of engine? Sorry if its a daft question but Im a beginner with steam.

Hopper09/04/2022 00:43:39
7881 forum posts
397 photos

I've used 1/8" OD on small engines. Chuffs along ok at that. You might want to go up a size for more high performance or larger engines. Put the steam shut off valve right at the boiler and run it just cracked open to control speed. This "wire draws" the steam through the small opening and helps to keep it dry, or at least drier than otherwise. Also safer to not have lengthy pipework under boiler pressure while valve is closed.

John Beresford09/04/2022 01:48:44
25 forum posts
11 photos

Thanks Hopper, I’ll do that. I assume the lubricator then needs to go near the steam chest or does it not matter so much? I’m going to have a go at making both the lubricator and the steam valve rather than buy them.

JasonB09/04/2022 07:14:26
25215 forum posts
3105 photos
1 articles

Stuarts have a chart with the pipe sizes for all their engines they give the 50 as 5/32" inlet and 3/16" outlet

John Beresford10/04/2022 14:03:24
25 forum posts
11 photos