By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Hare Hydraulic Press, anyone?

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Richard Harris 527/04/2021 16:58:46
114 forum posts

I don't know anyone who's used one of these, so was wondering if anyone one here may have came across one? Possibly ever used one?

I've never used a hydraulic press before but I would like to acquire one eventually.

A hydraulic forging press for hot work.

I have done a lot of forging over the past few years and the natural path is to get a machine to take some of the strain off your body. I enjoy swinging a hammer as much as anyone but for some of the grunt work on larger stock, a machine would be most welcome and open up my creative possibilities (and save a lot of time).

There are presses made in China, Anyang - these are well regarded and well made, used by many people. However, the romantic in me would always prefer something made in England and something that already has a history to it.

The "Hare" hydraulic presses seem to be very common on the used market and so I guess, not in demand so much (and Hare unfortunately went out of business recently, IIRC).

The issue is acquiring any knowledge as to their suitability in adapting for hot work.

Anyone on here happen to have used one or have any knowledge about them? It would be sincerely appreciated.

If this isn't an appropriate place to ask, I do apologise.

Many thanks,

Richard

Grindstone Cowboy27/04/2021 17:54:56
1160 forum posts
73 photos

I'm probably missing something here, but to me a hydraulic press is something that works slowly but with great force, whereas I imagine you want something more like a power hammer? Apologies if I'm wrong.

Rob

Richard Harris 527/04/2021 18:03:48
114 forum posts
Posted by Grindstone Cowboy on 27/04/2021 17:54:56: