By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
Forum sponsored by:
Forum sponsored by Forum House Ad Zone

Myford tailstock ML7 / Super 7

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Dave Whipp05/02/2019 23:58:31
23 forum posts

Hi - Looking for a little advice from the more experienced Myford users.

I bought a 1950's Super 7 on ebay a few months ago and after many hours of work I have now got it into pretty good shape (Many new parts, bed scraped flat, 3 phase motor, repainted etc etc.)

However after looking at a lot of photos and old Myford literature it appears that my Super 7 has a ML7 tailstock instead of the correct Super 7 one.

The ML7 tailstock seems to be in reasonable shape although obviously it has some wear and I have put it to some light use without any obvious problems (but I am fairly new to the machining game)

I'm just wondering, is it worth me searching out a used Super 7 tailstock ? The ones I've seen online are not particularly cheap, However if the Super 7 tailstock design is much improved over the ML7 one then I may make the upgrade but if there's not much in it from a practical point of view then I'm not going to change it simply for the fact of having "all original" parts.

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks - Dave.

Edited By Dave Whipp on 06/02/2019 00:00:24

Chris Trice06/02/2019 01:31:26
1376 forum posts
10 photos

IMHO, the Super 7 tailstock is much better for three reasons. It has greater rigidity, it self ejects morse tapered tooling and thirdly, it does away with the annoyance of getting oil/grease on your hand from the barrel everytime you reach for the hand wheel.

Kiwi Bloke06/02/2019 07:47:50
912 forum posts
3 photos

Just remember to check the centre height of a replacement tailstock. I don't think Myford held to specified dimensions too rigorously - it was easier to fit individual parts to each other.

jwb06/02/2019 09:18:19
20 forum posts
1 photos